Texas Tech University

Distinguished Engineers Awards Recipients Announced

Lacy Oliver

April 25, 2024

The Edward E. Whitacre College of Engineering celebrates esteemed alumni with the Distinguished Engineer Awards.

It is with immense honor that we announce the recipients for the 2024 Distinguished Engineer Awards. The Distinguished Engineer Awards aims to acknowledge and commend esteemed alumni whose impactful contributions have not only enhanced society but also brought distinction to the Whitacre College of Engineering. By spotlighting these accomplishments of the Whitacre College of Engineering, it boosts the pride of past and present students, as well as faculty and staff alike. 

The 2024 award recipients are as follows: 

Young Distinguished Engineers 

Aubrey M. Brockman, P.E. – 2011; Civil Engineering 

Associate and Practice Builder for Kimley-Horn & Associates

Nicole Davis Viilo – 2009; Petroleum Engineering 

Permian Planning Supervisor at ConocoPhillips

Distinguished Engineers 

David T. Hudson. P.E. – 1983, 1990; Industrial Engineering 

Retired President at XCEL Energy – SPS Company 

T. Lynn Lovell, P.E., CFM. D.WRE, Fellow ASCE – 1968, 1969; Civil Engineering

Retired Vice President at Halff Associates, Inc. 

Charlyn Gleeson Plunk – 1992, 1995; Petroleum Engineering, Industrial Engineering 

Chief STEM Advisor for the Girl Scouts of Northeast Texas 

Chair of the Sci-Tech Discovery Center

Rodney D. Priestley, Ph.D. – 2003, 2008; Chemical Engineering 

Dean of the Graduate School at Princeton University

Pomeroy Betty Perry Smith Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering

Co-Director of NSF I-Corps Hub

James A. “Jim” McAuley Distinguished Engineering Student Award 

Adison Moyer – Graduating May 2024 in Chemical Engineering 

The 2024 Texas Tech Distinguished Engineer award marks a milestone in our legacy. Established in 1962, this prestigious honor has celebrated the excellence of 250 remarkable engineers over the years. It was recognized that these awards were to be given for outstanding achievement, both inside as well as outside the profession, and that no compromises diminishing the significance of the awards would be made.