Texas Tech University

English Proficiency-Exempt Countries

For students who are not citizens/permanent residents of the U.S.

Applicants who are citizens of the countries listed below are exempt from the English proficiency requirement, which will be waived upon receipt of proof of citizenship (i.e., a copy of your passport biographical page). Applicants who complete a university-level degree (associate's, bachelor's, master's, etc.) or who have completed at least four consecutive semesters of non-developmental, non-intensive English coursework at a regionally accredited college or university in the United States of America or at a ministry-recognized college/university in a country on the list below are also exempted from the English proficiency requirement; the requirement will be waived upon receipt and evaluation of the transcript. 

Countries Exempt from English Language Proficiency Requirement

  • American Samoa
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Canada (except the Province of Quebec)
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada
  • Guam
  • Guyana
  • Ireland, Republic of
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Liberia
  • Micronesia Islands, Federated States of
  • Montserrat
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Philippines
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Helena
  • South Africa
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Northern Ireland, and Wales)
  • United States
  • Virgin Islands
  • Zimbabwe