Texas Tech University



Distinguished Staff Awards 2017 Group Recipient Image: Athletics


Every weekend thousands of people are exposed to Texas Tech through this team in Athletics which is comprised of:

  • Ralph Bauer, Coordinator
  • Don Buck, Unit Manager
  • Allysan Hernandez, Coordinator
  • Sandy Collins, Associate Athletic Director
  • Wayne Gehegan, Unit Manager
  • Jeff Jones, Manager
  • Steve Maines, Program Director
  • Terry Neal, Tradesman Leader
  • James Pacheco, Superintendent
  • Michael Ryan, Senior Associate Director

Because of the efforts of this team, we never doubt that Texas Tech University is being presented in the best possible light. From the person that greets you at the door, to the look of the facility, to the way an event is managed, this team is first class in all aspects of their day-to-day job and more importantly, their customer service. Time and again this team is complimented by NCAA officials, opposing coaches, administrators and fans for their outstanding work. It is not unusual for someone on this team to be assisting with a last minute donor request to ensure that only hours later the request is perfectly arranged for the donor when they arrive at the game. Additionally, they understand that at the foundational level, the appearance of our facilities makes an impression on every student, donor, and guest we have to our facilities. As a result, they routinely go above and beyond to ensure that everything is in tip-top shape, year round, and particularly on game day. They are simply the best at what they do in the country.