Texas Tech University

Dr. Werner Kuhr Named to National Academy of Inventors Fellows

Kathryn Dankesreiter, Marketing & Engagement Coordinator

December 14, 2023

Werner Kuhr, the Associate Vice President of Innovation and Entrepreneurship, and TTUHSC Faculty has been elected as part of the 2023 class of NAI Fellows.

Dr. Werner Kuhr has been elected as part of the 2023 class of National Academy of Inventors Fellows. Kuhr, the Associate Vice President of Innovation and Entrepreneur at Texas Tech, received the prestigious honor announced by National Academy of Inventors (NAI) on Tuesday (Dec. 12). 

“I am very honored to be elected an NAI member and very grateful for the nomination by the folks here at Texas Tech,” Kuhr said. “The atmosphere here is so welcoming and supportive that I am grateful for the opportunity to serve in a role that will foster innovation and help others here attain NAI fellowship as well.” 

Kuhr oversees Texas Tech's Innovation Ecosystem, including the Innovation Hub, the Institute for Small Business, and the Office of Research Commercialization. 

“Congratulations to Werner for this great honor,” said Dr. Joseph Heppert, Texas Tech's Vice President for Research and Innovation. “His leadership has been vital to the innovation ecosystem here at Texas Tech, and this national recognition of his success is very much deserved.”

In addition to Kuhr receiving this honor, Dr. P. Hemachandra Reddy from the Texas Tech Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) has been named a NAI Fellow. Reddy's work promotes healthy aging and has produced mechanisms to both detect and slow the impacts of Alzheimer's disease in humans. The 2023 class of NAI Fellows comprises 162 academic inventors from 35 U.S. states and 10 different countries. Congratulations to Dr. Kuhr and Dr. Reddy for this momentous accomplishment.