Texas Tech University

eLearning Council


The eLearning Council shall serve in an advisory capacity to the Provost regarding matters related to distributed learning. The Council provides leadership in determining academic policies, procedures and priorities concerning distributed learning. The Council also reviews proposals for distance and off-campus degrees, certificate programs, minors and concentrations.

Voting Membership:

Voting members shall consist of appointed representatives of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources; Architecture; Arts and Sciences; Business Administration; Education; Engineering; Graduate School; Honors; Human Sciences; Media and Communication; Visual & Performing Arts; Law School; Library; as well as representatives of the Division of Undergraduate Education and Student Affairs, the director of the TLPDC, one Information Technology representative, and the Regional Site Directors.

Ex-Officio Membership:

1) Provost Office representative; 2) Institutional Research representative; 3) TTUHSC representative;  4) Office of Planning & Assessment representative; 5) Faculty Senate; 6) eLearning representative(s); 7) Staff Senate Representative; 8) Academic Support and Facilities Resources Representative.


The deans of each college/school will appoint their representatives for voting members. The president of the Faculty Senate will appoint a representative; the provost will appoint the Provost's Office representative; the vice provost for undergraduate education will appoint the Division of Undergraduate Education and Student Affairs representatives; the chief information officer and vice president for information technology will appoint the informational technology representative and the Office of Institutional Research representative; the president of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center will appoint a TTUHSC representative; the vice provost for planning and assessment will appoint one representative each from the Office of Planning and Assessment; and the assistant vice provost for Online & Distance Learning will appoint the Online & Distance Learning representative. All appointed members serve at the pleasure of their supervisors and will serve a three-year term with the possibility of being reappointed.

Operating Procedures:

The council shall develop its own operating procedures subject to the approval of the provost. Copies of all minutes and reports are provided to all members of the council and submitted to the provost.


Each representative has one vote. Ex-officio representatives shall not vote, except that the chair of the eLearning Council should vote to break any tie. Members' substitutes are considered to carry a full voting proxy.

Membership Term

Each eLearning Council representative shall serve a term of three years.


The council is chaired by the associate vice provost for eLearning.


Name College/Department Term Began Term Ends

Arnett, Dennis

Rawls College of Business Administration 2020 2023

Beaty, Liz 

Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering 2020 2023

Caswell, Kurt

Honors College 2019 2022
Cheon, Jongpil College of Education 2019 2022
Doerfert, David Graduate School 2019 2022
Greathouse, Karissa College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources 2018 2021
Heinz, Laura Libraries 2019 2022
Isoda, Hideki College of Visual & Performing Arts 2019 2022
Phillippe, Larry Student Disability Services (representing Student Affairs) 2019 2022
Roginson, Jody College of Media & Communication 2019 2022
Shine, Stephanie College of Human Sciences 2019 2022
Sutton, Vicki School of Law 2019 2022
Tanner, Marcus University Studies (representing Undergraduate Education) 2019 2022
Torres-MacDonald, Mary Alice College of Architecture 2019 2022
Wang, Degeng  College of Arts and Sciences 2017 2020
Austin, Kathy Information Technology Ex-officio  
Granberry, Jameshia TTU at Collin Ex-officio  
Hart, Melanie Office of the Provost Ex-officio  
Hughes, Jennifer S. Office of Planning & Assessment Ex-officio  
Huston, Sandra Faculty Senate Representative Ex-officio  
Louder, Justin (CHAIR) eLearning Ex-officio  
McConnell, Pat Academic Testing Services Ex-officio  
Merrill, Celia TTU at Fredericksburg and Highland Lakes Ex-officio  
Randolph, Katie TTU Health Sciences Center Ex-officio  
Ratheal, Otto TTU at El Paso Ex-officio  
Snell, Lewis TTU at Waco Ex-officio  
Stubblefield, Robert TTU at Junction Ex-officio  
Tapp, Suzanne Teaching, Learning, and Professional Development Center Ex-officio  
Taylor, Clay eLearning Ex-officio  

Office of the Provost