Texas Tech University

Davis College faculty recognized for excellence at faculty convocation

Norman Martin

April 28, 2022

Person Person, Ph.D.

Faculty members from Texas Tech's Davis College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources were honored for their achievements and contributions to the university as part of the university's annual Faculty Honors Convocation on Monday (Apr. 25) at the Student Union Building. The awards are given by the Office of the President and recognize outstanding faculty and departments for excellence in teaching, research, service and more.

High-quality faculty are the backbone of great academic institutions, stressed Davis College Interim Dean Cindy Akers. Faculty honors convocation provides an opportunity to recognize and congratulate Davis College faculty members and departments who are true leaders on our campus in helping the university achieve its strategic goals and grow its national and international reputation, she said.

Among those receiving awards were:

Whitney CrosslandHemphill-Wells New Professor Excellence in Teaching Award. An expert in animal health and nutritional systems, she is an assistant professor of animal nutrition in the Department of Animal & Food Sciences. One of her teaching goals has been to develop a high impact, interactive course that allows students to tour cattle operations throughout Texas to gain a holistic perspective of the multi-faceted beef cattle production chain. Her research broadly focuses on beef cattle health and nutrition. Her work has featured antibiotic alternatives for the control of liver abscesses in the feedlot. She joined the Texas Tech faculty in 2018. Crossland received her doctorate in ruminant nutrition from Texas A&M University.

Peter DotrayChancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award. The Rockwell Chair of Weed Science within the Department of Plant & Soil Science, Dotray holds a joint appointment with Texas A&M Agrilife Research & Extension Service. Since joining Tech's faculty in 1993, Dotray has taught students principles of weed science, along with modes and mechanisms of herbicide action. The Minnesota native's research interests broadly focus on developing effective and economical weed management systems in cotton and other crops grown in rotation with cotton.  His doctorate in agronomy (herbicide physiology) is from the University of Minnesota.

Laura FischerTexas Tech Alumni Association New Faculty Award (Davis College). An expert in agricultural communications and strategic messaging, she is an assistant professor within the Department of Agricultural Education & Communications. Fischer uses research to best understand how to strategically communicate to targeted audiences about agriculture and natural resource issues. She is interested in how individuals form opinions about agricultural sciences, and the types of messages that can be used to inform people. She uses a variety of tools and research methods, such as dial testing, eye tracking, and psychophysiology. Her doctorate in agricultural communications is from Texas Tech.

Kristin HalesTexas Tech Parents Association Barnie E. Rushing, Jr. Faculty Distinguished Research Award - STEM disciplines. A nationally-recognized USDA expert in ruminant nutrition and beef cattle energetics, Hales is the Thorton Distinguished Chair within the Department of Animal & Food Sciences. Her doctorate in animal science is from Texas Tech. Recent honors for Hales include being named a 'Top 3 Reviewer' for the Journal of Animal Science (2016); a 'Top 10 Reviewer' for the Journal of Animal Science (2015); and an Outstanding Early Career Research Award from the Midwest Section-American Society of Animal Science (2019).

Courtney MeyersFaculty Distinguished Leadership Award. Meyers is a professor and graduate studies coordinator within Texas Tech Department of Agricultural Education & Communications. Recent honors include a Fulbright Scholar Award, President's Academic Achievement Award, and recognition as an American Association for Agricultural Education Fellow. She also received a Texas Tech's Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award, President's Excellence in Teaching Award, and was named a Texas Tech Integrated Scholar. Meyers, who joined the Texas Tech faculty in 2008, received her doctorate in agricultural education and communication from the University of Florida.

Jamie Bologna PavlikPresident's Excellence in Teaching Award (Davis College). An associate professor within the Department of Agricultural & Applied Economics, Pavlik also serves as a research fellow with Texas Tech's Free Market Institute. Her research broadly falls within the fields of economic growth and development, with a particular emphasis on the role of institutions. Her narrower focus is on the role of corruption within institutions. She joined the Davis College faculty in 2016. She is a member of the American Economic Association. Her doctorate in economics is from West Virginia University.

Tech convocation officials also recognized the university's current Paul Whitfield Horn Professors from Davis College, which include Mindy Brashears (2022) Professor of Food Safety & Public Health and former Under Secretary of Agriculture in Food Safety; Eric Hequet (2016) Associate Vice President for Research Office of Research & Innovation; and Michael Galyean (2006) Professor, Department of Veterinary Sciences, and former Texas Tech Provost. Horn professorships are the highest honor a faculty member can receive from the university. The award is named for Texas Tech's first president, Paul Whitfield Horn.


This story was first published in the Davis College NewsCenter. See the original article here.