Texas Tech University

Research Advisory Council (RAC)

The Research Advisory Council (RAC) is a formal standing council of Texas Tech University (TTU), and its principal mission is to provide advice and input to the Vice President for Research & Innovation (VPR&I). The purpose of the RAC is to help and assist the VPR&I and the institution in meeting research, creative activity, and scholarship strategic priorities, particularly as they relate to the Strategic Plan for TTU and the Strategic Plan for Research. The RAC is a representative body with voting members appointed from each college or school and additional members appointed representing libraries and research centers.

RAC Charter

Name Title Department

Akchurin, Nural

Associate Dean for Research

Associate Dean Arts & Sciences

Barrington, Jeff  

Assistant Vice President

Information Technology

Bayne, Stephen 

Department Chairperson

Office of Research & Innovation

Belnap, Jeffrey 

Academic Dean TTU Costa Rica

Bratcher, Christy 

Associate Academic Dean College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources

Brashears, Mindy 

Professor Office of Research & Innovation

Carrell, John

Assistant Professor

Honors College

Christian, Monty 

Executive Director

Office of Research & Innovation

Cody, Sarah 

Managing Director

Accounting Services

Colwell, Malinda 


College of Human Sciences

Cook, Amy 

Assistant Vice President

Office of Research & Innovation

Durham DeCesaro, Genevieve 

Vice Provost for Faculty Success


Evola, Marianne  


Office of Research & Innovation

Fisher, Eric 

Chief Account Officer - Controller

Accounting Services

Hedge, Vijay

Assistant Professor

Faculty Senate Representative

Heppert, Joseph  

Vice President for Research & Innovation

Office of Research & Innovation

Hequet, Eric  

Associate Vice President and Horn Distinguished Professor

Office of Research & Innovation

Hope-Weeks, Louisa


Graduate School

Johnson, Eileen  


Museum of Texas Tech University

Jones, Stephanie J.

Faculty Fellow & Professor

Office of Research & Innovation

Khare, Rajesh  


Whitacre College of Engineering

Landrum, Asheley

Interim Assistant Dean of Research & Associate Professor

College of Media & Communications

Martens, Peter  

Associate Professor

College of Visual and Performing Arts

Matteson, Shirley 

Associate Academic Dean

College of Education

Mechref, Yehia

Associate Vice President of Research and Innovation & Horn Distinguished Professor

Office of Research & Innovation

Nguyen, Annelise 


School of Veterinary Medicine

Oliver, Marina 

Associate Dean of Libraries

University Libraries

Outenreath, Alyson

Associate Dean for Faculty Development

School of Law

Ramkumar, S.


American Association of University Professors (AAUP)

Rashed-Ali, Hazed M.

Associate Dean for Research

College of Architecture

Ribordy, Regean   


International Affairs

Salazar-Bravo, Jorge 

Associate Professor

International Affairs

Segran, Sam

Associate Vice President for Information Technology & TTU Chief Information Officer

Office of the Chief Information Officer

Song, Jaeki 

Associate Dean of Graduate Programs and Research

Rawls College of Business

Tindle, Kay  

Interim Associate Vice President for Innovation & Entrepreneurship; Associate Vice President for Strategic Initiatives

Office of Research & Innovation

Young, Alice

Associate Vice President for Research Integrity

Office of Research & Innovation


Watch Past Meetings

December 2022

October 2022