Texas Tech University

Research Advisory Council (RAC)

The Research Advisory Council (RAC) is a formal standing council of Texas Tech University (TTU), and its principal mission is to provide advice and input to the Vice President for Research & Innovation (VPR&I). The purpose of the RAC is to help and assist the VPR&I and the institution in meeting research, creative activity, and scholarship strategic priorities, particularly as they relate to the Strategic Plan for TTU and the Strategic Plan for Research. The RAC is a representative body with voting members appointed from each college or school and additional members appointed representing libraries and research centers.

RAC Charter

Name Title Department Phone Email

Akchurin, Nural

Associate Dean for Research

Associate Dean Arts & Sciences

(806) 834-8838

nural.akchurin@ttu.edu

Barrington, Jeff  

Assistant Vice President

Information Technology

(806) 834-2941

jeff.barrington@ttu.edu

Bayne, Stephen 

Department Chairperson

Office of Research & Innovation

(806) 834-0526

stephen.bayne@ttu.edu

Belnap, Jeffrey 

Academic Dean TTU Costa Rica (806) 834-2002 jeffrey.belnap@ttu.edu

Bratcher, Christy 

Associate Academic Dean College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources (806) 834-1364 christy.bratcher@ttu.edu

Brashears, Mindy 

Professor Office of Research & Innovation (806) 834-4274 mindy.brashears@ttu.edu

Carrell, John

Assistant Professor

Honors College

(806)834-0258

john.carrell@ttu.edu

Christian, Monty 

Executive Director

Office of Research & Innovation

(806) 834-0336

monty.christian@ttu.edu

Cody, Sarah 

Managing Director

Accounting Services

(806) 834-1692

sarah.cody@ttu.edu

Colwell, Malinda 

Professor

College of Human Sciences

(806) 834-4179

malinda.colwell@ttu.edu

Cook, Amy 

Assistant Vice President

Office of Research & Innovation

(806) 834-0705

amy.cook@ttu.edu

Dass, Mayukh 

Professor

Rawls College of Business

(806) 834-1924

mayukh.dass@ttu.edu

Evola, Marianne  

Director

Office of Research & Innovation

(806) 834-4166

marianne.evola@ttu.edu

Fisher, Eric 

Chief Account Officer - Controller

Accounting Services

(806) 834-4713

eric.fisher@ttu.edu

Gearhart, Sherice 

Associate Professor

College of Media & Communications

(806) 834-6691

sherice.gearhart@ttu.edu

Heppert, Joseph  

Vice President for Research & Innovation

Office of Research & Innovation

(806) 834-6506

joseph.heppert@ttu.edu

Hequet, Eric  

Associate Vice President and Professor

Office of Research & Innovation

(806) 834-0621

eric.hequet@ttu.edu

Hope-Weeks, Louisa

Professor

Graduate School

(806) 834-2442

louisa.hope-weeks@ttu.edu

Johnson, Eileen  

Director 

Museum of Texas Tech University

(806) 834-5560

eileen.johnson@ttu.edu

Khare, Rajesh  

Professor

Whitacre College of Engineering

(806) 834-0449

rajesh.khare@ttu.edu

Martens, Peter  

Associate Professor

College of Visual and Performing Arts

(806) 834-1870

peter.martens@ttu.edu

Matteson, Shirley 

Associate Academic Dean

College of Education

(806) 834-3841

shirley.matteson@ttu.edu

Mechref, Yehia

Horn Professor

Office of Research & Innovation

(806) 742-3067

yehia.mechref@ttu.edu

Nguyen, Annelise 

Professor

School of Veterinary Medicine

(806) 834-8559

annelise.nguyen@ttu.edu

Oliver, Marina 

Associate Dean of Libraries

University Libraries

(806) 834-1074

marina.oliver@ttu.edu

Outenreath, Alyson

Associate Dean

School of Law

(806) 834-8690

alyson.outenreat
h@ttu.edu

Ramkumar, S.

TTU Chapter President

American Association of University Professors (AAUP)

(806) 834-4336

s.ramkumar@ttu.edu

Ribordy, Regean   

Director

International Affairs

(806) 834-2777

reagan.ribordy@ttu.edu

Salazar-Bravo, Jorge 

Associate Professor

International Affairs

(806) 834-3718

j.salazar-bravo@ttu.edu

Segran, Sam

Associate Vice President for Information Technology & TTU Chief Information Officer

Office of the Chief Information Officer

(806) 834-5161

sam.segran@ttu.edu

Stewart, Rob

Sr. Vice Provost

Provost and SVP Academic Affairs

(806) 742-2184

rob.stewart@ttu.edu

Swingen, Abigail

Associate Vice President for Research & Innovation

Office of Research & Innovation

(806) 834-2459

abigail.swingen@ttu.edu

Tindle, Kay  

Assistant Vice President

Office of Research & Innovation

(806) 834-5582

kayla.tindle@ttu.edu

Weeks, Brandon

Associate Dean of Research and Graduate Programs

Whitacre College of Engineering

(806) 834-7450

brandon.weeks@ttu.edu

Young, Alice

Associate Vice President for Research & Innovation

Office of Research & Innovation

(806) 834-3536

alice.young@ttu.edu