Texas Tech University

Institutional Laboratory Safety Committee


The Committee reports to the Vice President for Research and Innovation on matters related to the use of chemicals and physical hazards that may be hazardous in the research, studios and educational activities of Texas Tech University. Hazardous chemicals are defined as substances which are potential physical or health hazards by exhibiting harmful characteristics such as toxicity, reactivity or flammability. Specific charges to the Committee include the following:

  • To recommend to the Vice President for Research and Innovation policies and procedures to ensure Texas Tech University's compliance with all federal, state and local statutes, regulations, procedures and principles relating to the purchase, storage, use and disposal of hazardous chemicals used in Texas Tech University's research, studio and educational programs.
  • To certify investigators, their laboratories and their programs for work with Explosive Materials (Defined by 27 CFR 555.11)]
  • To produce and update the University Chemical Hygiene Plan and oversee its implementation in the research and teaching work areas  of Texas Tech University.
  • To review and recommend to Environmental Health & Safety the need for general and specific training programs for research, studio and teaching activities dealing with hazardous chemicals, and to review the appropriateness and effectiveness of such training programs.

Committee Composition


Designated by the Vice President of Research on recommendation from the Assistant Vice President of Environmental Health & Safety from the membership.


The term of membership for full members is staggered three-year terms with one term expiring each year. The membership shall include at least:

  • A minimum of three (3) faculty members active or knowledgeable in the use of chemical reagents
  • A minimum of one (1) faculty member active or knowledgeable in the use of energetic materials
  • A minimum of two (2) faculty members who are non-users of chemical or energetic materials
  • A minimum of one staff member knowledgeable in the use of chemical and/or energetic materials
  • A member of the local regulatory community

Ex officio (without vote) members include the Associate Vice President for Research (Research Integrity), Assistant Vice President of Environmental Health & Safety, Laboratory Safety Section Manager and other faculty members who may offer valuable insight based on expertise.

2022-23 Membership Roster


Dr. Dimitri Pappas, Faculty, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Associate Chair

Dr. Gordon Christopher, Faculty, Mechanical Engineering

Committee Members

Dr. Dominick Casadonte, Faculty, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Dr. Donald Docimo, Faculty, Mechanical Engineering

Mr. Ayman Ghonim, Staff, Veterinary Medicine

Dr. Joaquin Gonzales, Faculty, Kinesiology and Sport Management

Dr. Lauren Gollahon, Faculty, Biological Sciences

Mr. Gary Henniger - Community Member, Bayer Crop Science

Dr. Chijuan Hu, Faculty, Chemical Engineering

Ms. LaQuetta Purkiss, Staff, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Mr. Shane Scoggin, Staff, Nutritional Sciences

Dr. Ernest Smith, Faculty, Environmental Toxicology

Mr. Von Venhuizen - Faculty, Art

University Chemical Hygiene Officer

Mr. Todd Germain, Chemical Hygiene Officer, Environmental Health & Safety

Ex Officio Members

Mr. Matthew Looney, Radiation Safety Officer, Environmental Health & Safety

Mrs. Rebecca Maloney, Biological Safety Officer, Environmental Health & Safety

Mr. Matt Roe, Chemical Hygiene Officer & Assistant Vice President for Environmental Health & Safety

Dr. Alice Young, Faculty, Office of the Vice President for Research

Meeting Frequency

Monthly during the regular semesters. For the date and time of the next scheduled meeting, please contact Environmental Health & Safety.

Meeting Dates

Fall 2023 to be announced.