Texas Tech University

Rebecca Maloney

Section Manager; Biological Safety Officer
Biological Safety

Email: rebecca.maloney@ttu.edu

Phone: 806-834-2873

Rebecca Maloney grew up in the Texas panhandle and moved to Lubbock in 2010.  She graduated Cum Laude with her BS in Biology in 2006.  Rebecca has always loved research.  She worked as an undergraduate student in a molecular microbiology laboratory at the USDA-ARS in Bushland, and after completing her bachelors, took a position at her alma mater managing a microbiology lab in a dynamic research group.  While working, she completed her MS in Animal Science (2010) with emphasis on microbiology and epidemiology.  Rebecca continued managing the research laboratory until early spring 2015 when she joined the team at EHS.  Over her career, Rebecca completed multiple biosafety training programs that have shaped and continue to shape her contributions to safety at TTU, and in 2020, she was named Biological Safety Manager and Biological Safety Officer.  She recently passed her certification exam to become a Certified Biological Safety Professional (CBSP) through ABSA International.  

Rebecca's passion for safety collaboration shows in her campus engagement. Within months of joining EHS, she started departmental outreach to the campus community through attending orientation resource fairs for students, faculty and staff and later worked with Heather Coats to rebrand and further grow outreach for the department. She has served on the TTU Institutional Biosafety Committee since 2011 in varying capacities and as has been member of other campus compliance committees for a number of years.

Beyond EHS, Rebecca serves TTU as a Staff Senator where she chairs the Nominations Committee and the Caregiver Committee.  She was elected by her fellow senators as Senator of the Year in 2022.  Outside of Texas Tech, Rebecca enjoys life with her husband and their seven children and teaches faith formation at her parish.

Rebecca Maloney, Biological Safety Manager

Service Foci

  • Biological safety
  • Hazardous materials shipping
  • Outreach & Events
  • Field safety
  • Lab document review

Education & Certifications

  • CBSP(ABSA), 2022
  • B.S. in Biology, West Texas A&M University, 2006
  • M.S. in Animal Science, West Texas A&M University, 2010
  • Hazardous Materials Operator, SpillMasters
  • Biosafety & Biosecurity Training (BSL1-3), BBTC Fort Collins
  • Control of Biohazards (BSL1-3) Course
  • BSL-2 Training, University of Texas Medical Branch
  • BSL3 Design and Construction - Eagleson Institute
  • BSL3 Advanced Practices and Procedures - Eagleson Institute


Texas Tech Community Involvement

  • Biological Safety Officer, Institutional Biosafety Committee
  • Biological Safety Officer, Institutional Laboratory Safety Committee, ex officio
  • Staff Senator 2020-2023