Texas Tech University

2023 Departmental News

Dr. GeProf. Ge's Welch proposal was renewed. The project, “Palladium-Catalyzed Enantioselective Isomerization of Alkenes,” was funded for 3 years at $300,000.

Dr. MechrefProf. Mechref was elected for a 2nd term to Chair the Steering Committee of the Alliance of Glycobiologists for Cancer Research. + More

TrophiesTwo articles from Prof. Gamez' group were selected as top finalists for the 2022 Edward Steers Memorial Award for the Best Paper in Glow Discharge Spectroscopy, + More

TrophiesJudith Nawaiwu, a Ph.D. Student in Prof. Mechref's Laboratory was awarded a James D. and Mary Hazlewood Memorial Graduate Fellowship

TrophiesSong Prize: Kevin Finch

TrophiesMing Sun Family Graduate Research Awards: Peilin Jiang, Cristian Gutierrez-Reyes, Junyao Wang, Dylan Tharp Eralie, Navkiran Juneja, Maryam Yekefallah

TrophiesOutstanding Teaching Assistant Award in: General Chemistry: Evan van Aalst, Benedicta Quainoo,
Organic Chemistry: Olivia Villanueva Mazen Elsaid
Upper-Division Chemistry: Mychele Jorns, Mazen Elsaid

TrophiesCengage General Chemistry TA Awards: Evan van Aalst, Dong Zhang, Jun Jang, Jayendra Chunduru Benedicta Quainoo, Arun Bhujel, Joy Solomon,Umut Ozuguzel

TrophiesChemistry Graduate Student Organization Scholarship: Junyao Wang, Maryam Yekefallah, Nandakumar Katakam, Navkiran Juneja, Amirhossein Bakhtiiari

TrophiesGinny Shen Lin Endowed Scholarship (*Shared Division Award): Junyao Wang, Hongjia Qian,* Maryam Yekefallah,* Olivia Villanueva,* Ashley Moreno-Gongora,* Gary George, Juan Dominguez

TrophiesRichard Goodin Graduate Research Fellowship:Yao Tang

Trophies2023 Doctoral Dissertation Completion Fellowships:Gary George, Olivia Villanueva, Sophia Sagala, Harsshit Agrawaal

Dr. Anne GordenProf. Annie Gorden won the Margaret Wilson award as the outstanding Alumna from the Lubbock Alumnae chapter of Delta Gamma fraternity.

Dr. KorzeniewskiProf. Yehia Mechref received a competing renewal of his NIH R01 grant entitled "Quantitative Characterization of Glycopeptide Isomers.” + More

Dr. QuitevisProf. Quitevis served on the Ford Foundation Fellowships Online Physical Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Sciences Panel Review on March 13-14, 2023.

Dr. MoralesProf. Jorge A. Morales has been appointed in the editorial board of the scientific journal Frontiers.

Dr. PoirierProf. Poirier's article last year in Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. (PCCP 24, 4437 (2022)) has been added to a special themed collection celebrating the 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Dr. PoirierProf. Poirier was invited to write a perspective article for ACS Omega.

Trophies Tessa Hoang, an undergraduate student in the Gorden group, has been selected for a Travel Award from the Division of Inorganic Chemistry (DIC) of the American Chemical Society. This will provide her funding for presenting her poster at the Indianapolis ACS meeting at the end of March.

Trophies Sophia Sagala (graduate student in Prof. Quitevis's group) was selected to receive a Texas Tech University Graduate School Doctoral Dissertation Completion Fellowship for Fall 2023.

Dr. KorzeniewskiProf. Carol Korzeniewski has been elected as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). https://today.ttu.edu/posts/2023/01/Stories/Texas-Techs-Carol-Korzeniewski-Named-AAAS-Fellow

Archive of Departmental News


Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry

  • Address

    1204 Boston Avenue, Lubbock, TX 79409-1061
  • Phone