Texas Tech University

Message from the Chair


Dr. Erin Collopy
Department Chair & Associate Professor

We in CMLL were greatly saddened by the recent loss of Dr. Janet Perez. Dr. Perez held a Paul Whitfield Horn Professorship, the highest honor awarded to a faculty member at Texas Tech, and the Charles B. Qualia Chair of Foreign Languages, the highest honor in CMLL. She was recognized internationally and nationally for her scholarship in Spanish literary studies, winning awards and recognition at Texas Tech and at institutions from around the world. Dr. Perez's contribution to CMLL and Texas Tech extended far beyond her excellence as a scholar, though. She was strongly committed to the Spanish graduate program and to all the students who studied in it, generously using the resources allowed to her from her professorship and chair position to support graduate student research. Dr. Perez took a deep and personal interest in her students and it is her connection to them, as well as her research and teaching, that helped to make her the ideal academician. To honor her memory and her tradition of commitment to Spanish graduate studies CMLL has established the Dr. Janet Perez Memorial Fund for the Texas Tech Spanish Graduate Program.

I would like to recognize our spring 2016 graduates. Congratulations to Dr. Sara Pink and Dr. Martine Price for their successful dissertation defenses. And congratulations to the 18 undergraduates and 22 MA students who finished their degrees in the spring! We are very proud of you.

Classical & Modern Languages & Literatures

  • Address

    CMLL Building, 2906 18th St, Lubbock, TX 79409
  • Phone