Texas Tech University

High Energy Physics


The Experimental Particle Physics group at TTU, led by Professors Akchurin, Kunori, LeeVolobouev, and Whitbeck, participates in the CMS experiment at CERNLHC and maintain a rigorous R&D program in advanced detector physics. In addition to ongoing beyond the Standard Model searches (resonance searches, mono-X searches, and SUSY searches), the group has significant responsibilities for the upgrade of the CMS end-cap calorimeters for the high luminosity LHC. The Advanced Particle Detector Laboratory, which is well suited for R&D and production of detectors based on scintillator and silicon systems, and the High-Performance Computing Center allocate substantial resources in support of our work. The group also participates in the activities of the LHC Physics Center at Fermilab and maintains a generic detector R&D program with possible future applications at the ILC (International Linear Collider).

Experimental Research Topics

  • Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) Experiment @ CERN
    • Searches for Higgs Boson and New Physics Phenomena
    • Precision Measurements of Standard Model
    • Improving the Sensitivity of the CMS Detector to Jet Physics
    • Understanding of the CMS Hadron and High-Granularity Calorimeters
    • Click here for the CMS Experiment
  • Advanced Detector Research and Development
  • Large-scale High Performance Computing
  • QuarkNet Outreach Program

CMS Detector @ CERN

Compact Muon Solenoid

The Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) Detector at CERN LHC.

Faculty Members