Texas Tech Livestock Judging Team


The Livestock Judging Team is comprised of predominantly junior and senior students who are interested in developing their knowledge of the livestock industry. It is open to students of any major. The team competes at national competitions including the National Western, the  Southwestern Livestock Exposition, the San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo, the Houston Livestock Show, the National Barrow Show, the American Royal and the International in Louisville, Ky.

National Championships: 1934, 1953, 1985, 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2011

Contact Information:
Ryan Rathmann, Ph.D.

(806) 834-7820

Current Team Members:

Brittany Blum, a junior from Howe
Hayden Brown, a junior from Midland
Kylan Carson, a junior from Olton
Colton Coker, a junior from Roby
Austin Crissman, a junior from Bells
Nick Fitzsimmons, a junior from Vail, Iowa
Garrett Foote, a junior from Texico, N.M. 
Taylor Frank, a junior from Berthoud, Colo.
Cassie Godwin, a junior from Prescott, Ark.
Tate Horwood, a junior from Sterling City 
Austin Langemeier, a junior from Marion
Reina Lewis, a junior from Tulia
Jacob Mckillip, a junior from Lafayette, Ind.
Bailey Riedel, a junior from San Luis Obispo, Calif.
Ian Schaefer, a junior from Garden City
Taylor Tjaden, a junior from San Angelo 

The team is coached by Dr. Ryan Rathmann and assisted by graduate student Brady Ragland and Lane Halfmann.