Texas Tech Meat Judging Team


The Meat Judging Team is comprised of predominantly sophomore and junior students who are interested in developing their knowledge of the meat industry. It is open to students of any major. The team competes at national competitions including the National Western, the  Southwestern Livestock Exposition, the Houston Livestock Show, the American Royal, the Cargill High Plains and the International.

National Championships: 1989, 1991, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2003, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013

Contact Information:
Mark Miller, Ph.D.

(806) 834-0837

Current Team Members:

Caetlyn Avant, a senior from Copeville
Lindsey Drey, a junior from Houston
Kaitlyn Farmer, a junior from Aztec, N.M.
Jeremy Garcia, a junior from Houston
Zachary Grimsley, a junior from Abernathy
DeShea Hanagan, a junior from Artesia, N.M.
David Holland, a junior from Killeen
Mehgan Murray, a junior from Wylie
Autumn Ritchey, a junior from Houston
Linay Runnels, a junior from Hondo
Chad Vander Linden, a junior from Muscatine, Iowa
Lukas Ziegler, a junior from New Windsor, Md.

The team is coached by Dr. Mark Miller and assisted by graduate students Drew Cashman and Loni Woolley and post-doctoral assistant Travis O'Quinn.