Texas Tech University

Legislative Branch Home

Student Senate

The main body of the legislative branch is the Student Senate. Senators are elected by every College on the campus including the School of Law and the Graduate School. Student Senate meetings address legislation much like other governmental bodies under the guidelines of parliamentary procedure. The Student Senate serves as a liaison representing students to the faculty and administration of Texas Tech University. Each Student Senator is required to research issues that students face and write legislation to attempt to resolve those issues. The Student Senate is comprised of several committees. The chairmen for each of these committees is appointed by the President of the Senate. 

Student Senate Meetings

The senate meetings will be held at 6:00 p.m. in room 353 in the College of Media & Communications on the following dates:

Spring 2022

April 28th, 2022

Fall 2022

September 8th, 22nd

October 6th, 20th

November 5rd, 17th

December 1st

Spring 2023

January 12th, 26th

February 9th, 23rd

March 9th, 23rd

April 6th, 20th

Student Senate Retreat

August 26th-28th at Ceta Canyon Camp and Retreat Center

Officers of the Student Senate

President of the Student Senate/Internal Vice President:

Journal Clerk: Carmen Evans

President Pro-Tempore: Joshua Adamek 

Sergeant-at-Arms: Joel Rivero 


Historian: Citlali Moya

Student Senators

Senate Committees

The Student Senate has 10 standing committees. Each student senator serves on at least one of these committees. What committees are available? What do they do? Who is on each committee?

Senate Voting Records

April 28th, 2022


What is Student Senate all about? What impact has Student Senate had on Texas Tech campus? What is their legacy? The Legislation Archive holds those answers. See previous legislation and senate meetings that have had a lasting effect on the students and campus of Texas Tech. Current session legislation may be view by clicking on dates above.