Texas Tech University

Senate Committees

Academics Committee

The Academics Committee serves to provide a student voice to the academic mission of Texas Tech University. Their purpose is to gather feedback from students in different colleges regarding their academic experience. This committee also aids in coordinating events within the different colleges and departments. Members will be serving on various academic councils for specialization in academic affairs in an effort to bring student issues to light.

  • Stephanie Odigie - Chair
  • Lauren Mckenzie – Vice Chair
  • Haley Slook
  • Olamikun Adekoya
  • Jack Cantrell

Graduate Affairs Committee

The Senate Graduate Affairs Committee serves as a liaison between administration and the graduate students. They address graduate student issues and are the voice of the graduate students in the Student Senate. They assess possibilities for recruiting new graduate students and identify ways to retain currently enrolled graduate students. Members meet on a bi-weekly basis to discuss important issues related to graduate students and develop legislation to act upon.

For graduate and international student concerns, please contact the Graduate Vice President, John Michael Getz.

Campus Infrastructure Committee

The Campus Infrastructure Committee works very closely with the External Vice-President. They will serve on various campus committees in order to protect the student body's best interests in decisions made regarding infrastructure. They will also be working with building projects and the update of our technology infrastructure on campus. Members meet on a bi-weekly basis to discuss possible legislation concerning issues related to the physical Texas Tech campus.

  • Ross Roark – Chair
  • Dane Rivas – Vice Chair
  • Laneka Mclean
  • Meeraf Mulugeta
  • Jacob Martin

Diversity Committee

Committee on Diversity & Inclusion: This committee is for addressing concerns, projects, programs to impact the quality of life of underrepresented students on campus. We define Diversity as the range of human differences, including but not limited to race, ethnicity, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, age, social class, physical ability or attributes, religious or ethical values system, national origin, and political beliefs. These senators' goals are to foster a better relationship among differing students and represent the expanding interests of a plural campus and changing society, insuring all voices are heard.

  • Baahir Jinadu - Chair
  • Tori Shelton – Vice Chair
  • Krystal Garcia
  • Kristian Wolf
  • Trey Bolton

Intergovernmental Committee

The Intergovernmental Committee works closely with the External Vice-President and the Legislative Liaison. Members are responsible for contacting state and local governments in order to lobby effectively for higher education. They are also responsible for organizing on-campus voter drives. In addition to their normal duties, Texas Tech is hosting "Big XII on the Hill" in Washington, DC, this coming spring; therefore members will aid in organizing this large event. Members meet on a bi-weekly basis to discuss issues and legislation ideas.

  • Andrew Symons – Chair
  • Courtney Seely – Vice Chair
  • Hannah Peters
  • Klay Davis
  • Matt Morris
  • Viet Nguyen  

Public Relations Committee

The Public Relations Committee is responsible for keeping the Student Senate in touch with the student body and improving communication. The members of this committee host SGA Days on campus so that students to gain feedback from students and promote SGA initiatives. Members will meet bi-weekly to discuss issues and resulting legislation.

  • Rilyn Westbrook – Chair
  • Mikayla Sanders – Vice Chair
  • Abigail Schnagel
  • Brooke Duncan
  • Destiny Thompson
  • Paulina Cortes
  • Connor Lynch
  • Erica Grant
  • Kenzie Womack

Student Life Committee

The Student Life Committee is responsible for addressing student issues that occur outside of the classroom environment. Members will serve on various campus councils in order to examine and voice student issues. Issues brought before the Student Life Committee range from convocation ceremonies to student retention. Members will meet bi-weekly to discuss issues and resulting legislation.

  • Jordan Butler – Chair
  • Parker Reyes – Vice Chair
  • Alex Crowder
  • Jackson Young
  • Victoria Carter
  • Jarrett Hatcher
  • Anaeze Ogbonnia

Rules & Administration Committee

The Rules and Administration Committee is responsible for preserving the ideals of the Student Senate as defined by the Constitution and to enforce the Rules of the Senate. Members meet on a bi-weekly basis in order to review absences and all legislation prior to its introduction to the Student Senate.

  • Tristan Torres - Chair
  • John Smithwick – Vice Chair
  • Kelsey Holt
  • Jack Griffith
  • Tatum Richey
  • Will Sellers
  • Kaylee Powell
  • Adam Disque
  • Gabi Perez-Hunt 

Budget & Finance Committee

The Budget & Finance Committee is charged with allocating funds to all eligible student organizations. The members will take a significant role in funding organizations for the next fiscal year by participating in an application and interview process.

  • David Rivero - Chair
  • Traci Cramer – Vice Chair
  • Sequoyah Perry
  • Ashley Riggs
  • Colin Mclaren
  • Nelson Mejia
  • Tarah Hill
  • Zachary Thum
  • Vraj Patel
  • Will Plunk
  • Merielem Sharry
  • Cameron Bush
  • Stephen Doran
  • Leah Curren

Sustainability Committee

The sustainability committee works closely with the External Vice President to seek opportunities for Texas Tech University to better steward its resources in the interest of creating an environmentally friendly campus and student body. The committee shall be responsible for all legislation, activities, and coordination with other entities within the University regarding sustainability, pollution, campus beautification, recycling, reduction of environmental impact, and other similar initiatives.

  • Jake Sellers - Chair
  • Carla-Andrea Millares – Vice Chair
  • Callum Parnell
  • Kristian Hart
  • Salvador Sanchez 

First Year Engagement

  • Freshman Council (FC): Ryleigh Carson and Conner McKinzie
  • Freshman Leadership Association (FLA): Miranda Davis and Tate Leonard