Texas Tech University


In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The Huckabee College of Architecture's Master of Architecture is accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB). Upon graduating from the M Arch program and completing an internship, a student can sit for their licensing exam (ARE).

Texas Tech's Master of Architecture is a professional degree and is accredited by NAAB. The M Arch is a pre-professional undergraduate degree plus 42 graduate course credits.

Texas Tech's Bachelor of Science in Architecture is a non-professional degree and is not accredited by NAAB.