Texas Tech University

Faculty, Staff, and Student News

2019    2018



Professor Raegan Higgins has been named a 2020 Integrated Scholar by the Office of the Provost.  Integrated Scholars are not only outstanding in teaching, research and service, but they are also able to generate synergy among the three functions.  Faculty members who are Integrated Scholars consistently promote active learning and infuse the results of their research and scholarship in courses and other learning experiences.  Integrated Scholars publish results of their teaching innovations in peer-reviewed journals.  Finally, Integrated Scholar faculty members plan and execute service commitments to complement their teaching and research goals.


Erdi Kara (advised by Dr. Eugenio Aulisa) received a very competitive travel grant from the American Physical Society (APS) Biophysics Division to attend the APS March meeting and present "Computationally tractable mechanistic model of inhomogeneous -- anisotropic drug diffusion and tumor ablation" based on the following submitted manuscript.

A reporter from APS and contributor to the Washington Post also interviewed one of the co-authors on the topic of mechanistic modeling of cancer biophysics, during which the aforementioned paper, where Erdi is the first author, was discussed during a large portion of the interview. The interview will be formatted into a press release by the APS for the March meeting, after which it may potentially be covered by other news outlets such as the Washington Post.


The Mathematics and Statistics department at Texas Tech University recently opened two new job positions.

Please click here for more information.



Congratulations to Claudia Muñoz for receiving the 2019 Trjitzinsky Award, a prestigious AMS scholarship: it is a great honor for her, for the Mathematics & Statistics department, and for TTU in general!
Many thanks go to the AMS leadership, as well as our Undergrad Associate Chair Brock Williams for his help in our nomination.

To read more click here 


Congratulations to TTU Math Post-Doc Joshua Padgett, who, as co-Principal Investigator along with Evdokiya Kostadinova from Baylor, has been awarded an NSF Grant for the project Onset Turbulence in Dusty Plasma Liquids. Job well done!
The Simons Foundation has awarded TTU Math Professor and Chair Dr. Magdalena Toda a $42,000 grant to be paid over 5 years for her project Applications of Willmore Energy Functionals to Protein Biology. Congratulations Dr. Toda!
The Department welcomes new tenure track Assistant Professors Tao Lu (Statistics, University of Rochester, Ph.D), Kazuo Yamazaki (Applied, PDEs & Stochastic, Ph.D. Oklahoma State 2014), Hung Tran (Geometric Analysis & PDEs, Ph.D. Cornell 2014), and Stamatis Pouliasis (Potential Theory & Complex Analysis, Ph.D. Aristotle University of Thessaloniki 2011) in the Fall of 2019.
Biomathematician Toufik Khyat (Ph.D. Rhode Island 2017) and Geometrist Daniel Grady (Ph.D. Pittsburgh 2015) join TTU Mathematics and Statistics this Fall in PostDoc capacities. Welcome!


Utilizing the novel concept of coupling finite element methods and material point methods in fluid-structure interaction problems, Professor Aulisa of TTU Math has been awarded a $250,000 NSF grant. Dr. Aulisa intends to develop computational techniques with a broad spectrum of applications -- cardiovascular valve fluid flow, civil engineering dam breakage, and aerospace airfoil design, amongst others. Congratulations Dr. Aulisa!


Math Professors Brock Williams and Raegan Higgins, along with PI and Education Professor Jerry Dwyer and TTU's Michael Galyean and Jill White, have been awarded an NSF STEM grant worth over $1.1 million! This is a supplemental grant to the existing Noyce Scholarship program to foster high-quality STEM teacher recruitment. Congratulations to Drs. Williams and Higgins!
For more information, click here.


Professor Lars Christensen has received the 2019 Professing Excellence Award. This honor, nominated by students and was bestowed on March 27th. Congratulations Dr. Christensen!
Dr. Brock Williams received the College of Arts and Sciences Teaching Innovation Award. Besides the prestige that comes from winning the competitive award established by Dean Lindquist, a monetary prize accompanies the accolade. Congratulations Dr. Williams!
New tenure-track Assistant Professor Dr. Chunmei Wang has received an NSF Grant totaling $400,000 distributed incrementally until 2023. Congratulations, Dr. Wang, and a prestigious beginning to your career here at Texas Tech!
Professor Lars Christensen has been named 2019 Outstanding Researcher from the College of Arts and Sciences. Congratulations Dr. Christensen!



The Scientific Computing meets Machine Learning and Life Sciences conference will be held October 7th-9th at the Texas Tech main campus in Lubbock. Special thanks to the National Science Foundation's grant and Horn Professor Linda Allen for their generous financial support


Dr. Angela Peace was awarded an NSF Grant worth $80,000 that pertains to bettering our understanding of malaria transmission, entitled Collaborative Research: Linking Pharmacokinetics to Epidemiological Models of Vector-Borne Diseases and Drug Resistance Prevention. A collective award across 5 universities, the total grant is worth $550,000. Congratulations, Dr. Peace!

Department Newsletter

Department of Mathematics & Statistics