Texas Tech University

KCACTF Region VI Festival Recognitions

March 2, 2020

The School of Theatre and Dance truly excelled at the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (Region VI), which not only recognizes a host of students, both grad and undergrad, but also their mentors and faculty/staff. This was the best year in our history for regional and national recognition.

Congratulations to this group of talented students! Many of these recognitions come with money, training all over the country, and national trips to the Kennedy Center this April.

This extraordinary year speaks well of the education and training in the School of Theatre & Dance and our burgeoning reputation regionally, nationally, and internationally.

Arts Leadership

    • "Excellence in Arts Administration/ASPIRE Initiative Runner Up" (regional award) —Allison Roberts

Design, Technology, and Management

    • "Region VI Honor Crew"— Kelsey Blotter, Emilia Richardson, Abraham Millan, Elizabeth Campbell
    • "Stagecraft Institute of Las Vegas Fellowship"— Matthew Mosher
    • "Dramaturgy Through Design Outstanding Collaboration" — Elizabeth Campbell
    • "Tech Olympic Champions"—Kelly Murphey, Emilia Richardson, Ian Olson
    • "Collaborative Excellence Award for The Father"—Kelsey Blotter, Kelly Murphy, Rafael Aviles, Abraham Millian
    • "Excellence in Costume Design for The Father"— Kelsey Blotter
    • "Meritorious Achievement in Costume Design" — Emilia Richardson
    • "Excellence in Stage Management"— Angela Aguilera
    • "Excellence in Set Design"—Kelly Murphey


    • "SDC directing initiative finalist"—Stevan Rivera
    • "Awarded a full scholarship to the Kennedy Center Directing Intensive"— Stevan Rivera
    • "SDI Finalist"— Shane Strawbridge
    • "National New Play Network MFA Playwrights Workshop at the Kennedy Center Directing Fellowship"— Shane Strawbridge


    • "Excellence in dramaturgical analysis of a ten-minute play"— Michael Yarick
    • "Excellence in dramaturgy – National Runner Up, Black Girl, Interrupted"— Jennifer Ezell


    • "MTI Finalist and won a $600 scholarship to the Open Jar Institute in New York City" — Daniel DiPinto
    • "MTI Finalist and won a $600 scholarship to the Open Jar Institute in New York City" —Kietraille.S.Sutton
    • "MTI Finalist"--Cara Ellison
    • "Molly Risso Region 6 KCACTF Alumni Classical Acting Award of Excellence"— Luke Weber
    • "Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship National Finalist Alternate"— Luke Weber and partner Cara Ellison
    • "Irene Ryan Finalists"—Joryhebel Ginorio, Elliot Esquive, Luke Weber, Lydia McBee Reed
    • "The Irene Ryan Lee Hicks Best Partner Finals"— Elliot Esquivel
    • "Irene Ryan Best Partner in Semi-Finals Round"— Elliot Esquivel
    • "Irene Ryan Best Partner in the Finals Round" –Elliot Esquivel
    • "Excellence in Devising"— Devised Cory Lawson, Lydia Mcbee Reed, Christian Ruiz, Gerardo Carreon, John Godoy, Paul Kortemeier, C. Alex Webster
    • "Honored Edge Fringe Participant for WOLF MOON"— Lydia McBee Reed

Theatre Journalism and Advocacy

    • "Award for Excellence in the Institute for Theatre Journalism & Advocacy" — Tom Laney III


    • "Recipient of the ATHE/KCACTF Award for Innovation in Graduate Studies"— Patrick Midgley