Texas Tech University

Department of Veterinary Sciences


Michael Galyean

Michael Galyean
Horn Professor
114 Davis College Dairy Barn
(806) 834-8819
Download CV
Michael Galyean Home Page

Michael Galyean returned to Texas Tech's Davis College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources in 2021 as a member of the Department of Veterinary Sciences faculty, after having served as Texas Tech Provost and Sr Vice President of Academic Affairs since 2017. Before his appointment to the Texas Tech administration, he served as Davis College Dean.

Galyean earned a bachelor's degree in agriculture from New Mexico State University, and a master's in animal science and doctoral degree in animal nutrition, both from Oklahoma State University. He joined the faculty at Texas Tech in 1998, and was chair of the Animal Care and Use Committee from 2002 to 2006.

Previously he was assistant professor, associate professor, and professor in the Department of Animal and Range Sciences at New Mexico State University from 1977 to 1990; professor and superintendent of the New Mexico State University Clayton Livestock Research Center from 1990 to 1996; and professor of animal science at West Texas A&M University and the Texas Agricultural Experiment Station in Amarillo from 1996 to 1997.

Along with awards from other organizations and universities, Galyean has received multiple awards from Texas Tech, including the Davis College Outstanding Researcher Award (2004, 2005); the President's Academic Achievement Award (2005); and he was appointed as a Horn Professor (2006). He received the Society of Animal Science Morrison Award (2012) and the New Frontiers in Animal Nutrition Award (2013).

Additionally, he earned the Animal Management Award from the American Society of Animal Science (2006); the Davis College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources Service and Outreach Award from Texas Tech (2007); and he was named a Fellow in the American Society of Animal Science (2010). Galyean is a member of the American Society of Animal Science, American Registry of Professional Animal Scientists, American Dairy Science Association and American Society for Nutritional Sciences.