Texas Tech University

Texas Tech Names New Horn Professors

Costica Bradatan from the Honors College and Fred Davis from the Rawls College of Business have been designated Paul Whitfield Horn Distinguished Professors.

Lucy Greenberg | March 7, 2024

Costica Bradatan and Fred Davis were named Paul Whitfield Horn Distinguished Professors Thursday (Feb. 29) at the Texas Tech University Board of Regents meeting held in Wichita Falls.

To be designated a Horn Professor is the highest honor received by a Texas Tech faculty member. The recognition, named after the university's first president, is bestowed upon a faculty member who has attained national and/or international recognition in their areas of research or other creative, scholarly achievement.

“Drs. Davis and Bradatan exemplify the epitome of scholarly excellence at Texas Tech,” said Provost and Senior Vice President Ron Hendrick. “Their unwavering commitment to both students and pioneering scholarship has earned them the Horn Professor designation, a pinnacle toward which our faculty aspire.”

Professor and Bobby Stevenson Chair for Information Technology, Fred Davis, joined the Rawls College of Business in 2015. Davis received his Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 1986. He has held faculty positions at University of Michigan, University of Minnesota, The University of Maryland and University of Arkansas. Davis has developed a substantial and impressive research record, and his overriding programmatic line of research examines information systems with a focus on multiple overlapping domains. Professor Davis' current citation count exceeds 240,000.

“Being designated a Paul Whitfield Horn Distinguished Professor at Texas Tech is the paramount honor of my career,” Davis said. “President Horn urged Texas Tech's entering class of 1925 to embrace worldwide aspirations befitting the vast West Texas Plains. My research on technology acceptance has had the good fortune to generate broad societal impacts worldwide. I am proud to contribute to Texas Tech's research mission.”

Read the Full Story