Texas Tech University
Faculty Awards on Table

Faculty Awards

Rawls College is proud to honor the exceptional work of our dedicated faculty members. These awards recognize faculty who have gone above and beyond in demonstrating excellence in student engagement, impact, service, outstanding research and teaching performance.

College Awards

Established and supported through the generous contributions of our alumni, supporters and friends, the college-wide awards are open to all Rawls College faculty. Honorees are recognized each spring during the annual Rawls Town Hall Awards.

Designed to recognize Rawls College faculty and doctoral students who consistently go above and beyond to inspire students, challenge them to do their best work, and prepare them for long-term success, the Jerry S. Rawls Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Awards Program enhances the visibility of faculty/doctoral students who make the undergraduate classroom the focus of their passion and commitment.

The Carl & Linda Stem Distinguished Faculty Research Award honors faculty members at Rawls College who engage in and publish outstanding research in the various fields of business and management.

This individual demonstrates commitment to Rawls College and Texas Tech and has significantly increased productivity and efficiency, while using resources wisely and motivates others to serve at the same level of excellence.

The Rawls College Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes individuals who have excelled in their teaching roles at Rawls College.

The Rawls College Integrated Scholar Award recognizes faculty who dedicate themselves to a course of lifelong learning and advance Rawls College's and Texas Tech's role in educating, serving and inspiring others to do the same.

University Awards

The following awards are open to all faculty across Texas Tech University. Honorees are recognized each spring during the Faculty Honors Convocation.

The Barnie Rushing, Jr. Outstanding Faculty Distinguished Research Award recognizes excellence in research, scholarship, and creative activity.

The Chancellor's Council Distinguished Research Awards recognize outstanding research, scholarship, and creative activity of faculty members in the developmental stages of their careers.

The Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Awards recognize faculty members for teaching excellence, as evidenced by their attainment of distinction both within and beyond the institution for outstanding teaching and outstanding contributions related to excellence in teaching.

The Donald R. Haragran award recognizes the development and implementation of study abroad programs that support Texas Tech's commitment to providing high-quality international education opportunities.

The Faculty Distinguished Leadership Award recognizes outstanding service to a department, college, or university.

The Hemphill-Wells New Professor Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes a professor who has been at Texas Tech no more than four years and whose excellence in teaching has been attested by students, faculty, and administrators.

The President's Academic Achievement Award recognizes excellence across the teaching-research-service missions of the university.

President's Excellence in Teaching Award

The President's Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes individuals who have excelled in their teaching roles. Submit a nomination.

President's Excellence in Commercialization Award

The President's Excellence in Commercialization Award recognizes the outstanding contributions to the commercialization of innovative work conducted by Texas Tech University faculty. Submit a nomination.

President's Excellence in Engaged Scholarship Award

The President's Excellence in Engaged Scholarship Award recognizes faculty for an exemplary and sustained engaged scholarship project or activity that addresses an important community need and/or discovers solutions to larger societal issues based on mutually beneficial partnership with communities. The project/activity shows evidence of significant impact on communities/society, as well as teaching/learning, research/creative activity, and scholarship.

The President's Faculty Book Award celebrates the accomplishments of faculty who have contributed to the prestige of Texas Tech University and the scholarship of higher education through publication of scholarly books.

The President's Mid-Career Faculty Award acknowledges faculty, usually during the early to middle stage of their career, who have demonstrated a commitment to outstanding scholarship, teaching and engagement. Recipients of this award will be considered as some of the University's most gifted faculty members who continually serve as role models, a source of inspiration for students, and whose scholarship contributes to intellectual development, both on a statewide and a global level.

The Provost's Institutional Effectiveness in Excellence Award recognizes an academic department for institutional effectiveness, as evidenced by the department's commitment to continuous improvement and to improving student learning at the degree program level.

The Spencer A. Wells Award recognizes the creativity of a professor's approach to excellent teaching, as attested by students, faculty members, and administrators.

The Teaching Academy's Departmental Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes a department or comparable academic unit that demonstrates the existence of a "teaching culture," which reflects commitment to students, makes teaching a high departmental priority, and facilitates teaching excellence throughout the department.

Texas Tech Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was established in 1977 to recognize outstanding service to Texas Tech University or the Alumni Association. Alumni, friends of Texas Tech, as well as current and former employees of the university are eligible to receive the award or to.

The award is presented each year at the Matador Evening celebration on Homecoming weekend at Texas Tech.

Texas Tech Alumni Association New Faculty Award

The Texas Tech Alumni Association's New Faculty award recognizes outstanding faculty with a maximum of four years of service. The award is based on student evaluations, innovative teaching activities, initiation of research/creative activities, and interaction with students.

Scholar Pedagogues

The following awards are open to all faculty across Texas Tech University. Honorees are recognized each spring during the Faculty Honors Convocation.

Faculty members who are integrated scholars consistently promote active learning, and infuse the results of their research and scholarship in courses and other learning experiences. Integrated scholars publish results of their teaching innovations in peer-reviewed journals. Also, integrated scholar faculty members plan and execute service commitments to complement their teaching and research goals. Moreover, their outreach efforts inform all that they do in the domains of their teaching/learning and research/scholarship/creative efforts.

The Paul Whitfield Horn Professor designation is the highest honor Texas Tech can bestow upon a faculty member. Honorees have attained national and/or international recognition in the areas of research or other creative, scholarly achievement.

The Teaching Academy was formally inaugurated in 1997 to demonstrate, support, promote, and mentor colleagues and others, and share knowledge about teaching strategies and their implementation. The Teaching Academy and its members set the pace for the scholarship of teaching and the development of the best practices that serve as inspiration for all who teach at the university.