Texas Tech University
Wiliams dean

About the Dean

Margaret L. Williams, PhD, began service as dean of the Jerry S. Rawls College of Business in April of 2017.

Upon joining the college, Williams led a strategic planning process to establish goals and metrics to help Rawls College better position itself among the top business schools. She continues to support critical enrollment growth and curriculum enhancement across the undergraduate and graduate programs. Williams has also played a major role in fundraising efforts for the college, including establishing endowments to support the Scovell Business Leadership Program, the new Excellence in Banking Program and other strategic initiatives.

Williams came to Rawls College from the University of North Dakota where she served as the Page Endowed Dean of the College of Business and Public Administration. While at the University of North Dakota she successfully led the establishment of a new School of Entrepreneurship, steered development and alumni relations, and enhanced the college's research portfolio.

To her time at the University of North Dakota, Williams served as the department of management chair and later interim dean of the School of Business Administration at Wayne State University in Detroit, Michigan. Williams also has held faculty and teaching positions at Virginia Commonwealth University, the University of Tennessee, Purdue University, Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis and Indiana University.

A recognized scholar in the field of management, Williams has more than 30 years of experience as an educator, researcher and administrator. Her research interests include: leadership and employee motivation, compensation systems, organizational justice, and work/life issues. Her work has appeared in outlets such as the Academy of Management Journal, Human Resource Management, the Journal of Management, the Journal of Management Education, and the Journal of Applied Psychology, among many others.

Williams earned a PhD in management and an MBA, both from the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University.