Texas Tech University

Jerry S. Rawls Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Awards Program

Congratulations to the 2023 Honorees

Kristen Bigbee
Senior Lecturer, Accounting

Ezgi Ottolenghi, PhD
Assistant Professor, Finance

Nicholas Bergfeld, MD
Instructor, Business Administration

Maria Sochi
Doctoral Student, Finance

View All Honorees »
Kristen BigbeeEzgi Ottolenghi, PhDNicholas Bergfeld, MDMaria Sochi

When Jerry S. Rawls made his transformative $25 million naming gift to the business college in 2001, he enabled the Jerry S. Rawls College of Business to focus on excellence in research and education. Though much has changed over the years, the need for great teachers is as important as ever. With this need in mind, Rawls made a second transformational gift, funding the establishment of the Jerry S. Rawls Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Awards Program.

Designed to recognize Rawls College faculty and doctoral students who consistently go above and beyond to inspire students, challenge them to do their best work, and prepare them for long-term success, the Jerry S. Rawls Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Awards Program enhances the visibility of faculty/doctoral students who make the undergraduate classroom the focus of their passion and commitment. As the largest teaching award within Rawls College, each year, two full-time faculty are awarded $20,000 and one part-time instructor and one doctoral student are each awarded $5,000.


Full-time faculty, part-time instructors, and doctoral students who taught an undergraduate-level course during the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 academic years can be nominated for a Jerry S. Rawls Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award.

Please consider the following criteria when making your nomination(s). Your instructor:

    • taught information and skills valued by employers and relevant to your job performance and professional success,
    • exhibited a passion for the subject matter,
    • structured the course effectively,
    • communicated clearly and effectively

Nominate an Excellent Undergraduate Educator

All current Texas Tech undergraduate students who have taken a course in Rawls College and recent (within the past 2 years) Rawls College alumni are encouraged to nominate an undergraduate educator who has positively impacted their educational experience.

Nominations need not be lengthy, but should provide specific information detailing how the individual has excelled as an instructor and achieves the criteria for the award. If the nominee is inspiring, explain why. If the nominee influenced your career path, explain how.

Nominations for the 2024 awards close Monday, November 20 at midnight.

Submit a Nomination


Once student and alumni nominations have been received and sorted, each nominee will be invited to submit supporting information and documentation that will help the selection committee finalize award winners. Nominees with complete applications will be reviewed holistically by a seven-member committee composed of three faculty and four students. The committee will be led by a member of the Texas Tech Teaching Academy from another college.

Recipients will be expected to host a teaching workshop over the course of the next academic year and to serve as a teaching mentor so that all faculty can learn from their successes and determine how best to incorporate these best practices into their own teaching.


For more information, please email Rebecca Kibitlewski.