Texas Tech University

Kleinschmidt Award

Established in 2000, Kleinschmidt Award recognizes any individual, firm or organization whose contributions or service have enriched the Texas Tech University College of Architecture. The award is named after the first leader of the Texas Tech Architecture Program, Professor Florian A. Kleinschmidt.


Nominations may be made by an individual, firm or organization with knowledge of the Nominee's qualifications, under the following criteria:

  • Must be an individual, firm or organization that has exhibited extraordinary passion for advancing the goals of the Texas Tech University College of Architecture
  • Must have made significant and lasting contributions to the College through service; teaching; leadership; gifts; or other unique means
  • Must be of such integrity, stature, and demonstrated ability that the faculty, staff, students, and alumni will take pride in and be inspired by their recognition

2020 Kleinschmidt Recipient

Saif Haq, Ph.D.

Dr. Haq focuses on Architectural Theory, Urban Design, Vernacular Architecture, Non-Western Architecture, Spatial Cognition, Space Syntax, and more recently, Health & Wellness Design. He has taught in each of these areas, researched and published in leading international journals, and in turn been cited by major authors. He has also reviewed for high impact international journals and major publishing houses. His contemporary research includes Space Syntax and GIS, and is focused on complex settings such as medical facilities and mid-sized cities.

Past Recipients

  • 2019 David J. Isern
  • 2018 David Driskill
  • 2017 Urs Peter Flueckiger
  • 2016 Curtis W. Clerkley, Jr. '81
  • 2015 Mark E. Humphreys '78
  • 2014 Kathy B. Johnson
  • 2013 Andrew Vernooy, AIA
  • 2012 F. Marie Hall
  • 2011 A. Dudley Thompson,
  • 2010 Theresa Drewell, AIA, '76
  • 2009 Bill W. Cantrell, '51
  • 2008 Carl Childers, '52
  • 2007 John P. White, AIA
  • 2006 James E. White, AIA, '73
  • 2005 Sharen S. Hart
  • 2004 Elizabeth S. Sasser, '77
  • 2003 Nolan Barrick, FAIA
  • 2002 Margie Firenza
  • 2001 Bob J. Fowler, FAIA, '60
  • 2000 Tommie J. Huckabee, AIA, '58