Texas Tech University

Six Staff Members Garner University Recognition


For OIA Staff From Here It Truly IS Possible as Six Staff Members Garner University Recognition

The year 2020 was an exceptional year, and that has proven especially true for Texas Tech's Office of International Affairs (OIA), where six staff members were recognized for their service, leadership, and exemplary commitment to Texas Tech. The spirit of camaraderie and cooperation serve as hallmarks of the Office of International Affairs, and that spirit, along with an eye toward excellence, has not gone unnoticed by colleagues and the leadership across the University.

The OIA is under the leadership of the Vice Provost for International Affairs, Dr. Sukant Misra who noted: “The Office of International Affairs is enormously proud of all of the staff and students who make our work meaningful and a pleasure, and I am incredibly delighted to learn that so many of our staff members have been chosen to receive top university-wide staff awards for 2020. They have proved that they are an asset to our university.”

Those staff who received special University recognition in 2020 represent all the major units within the Lubbock campus OIA:

Ms. Reagan Ribordy

Ms. Reagan Ribordy, received a 2020 Top Techsan Award which recognizes an individual for extraordinary work proficiency and an attitude of team spirit.

Ms. Ms. Dawn Cepica

Ms. Dawn Cepica received a 2020 Masked Rider Award which recognizes an individual who has contributed to the success of Texas Tech through her accomplishments at work and leads by example.

Ms. Lanna Sheldon

Ms. Lanna Sheldon was honored with a 2020 Matador Award which recognizes a newcomer who has made significant contributions and shared innovative ideas.

Dr. Joan Goodman-Williamson

Dr. Joan Goodman-Williamson received a 2020 President's Award of Excellence which recognizes an individual who has demonstrated strong leadership skills throughout the year, made presentations, served on committees, and volunteered for campus activities.

Ms. Kelley Coleman

Ms. Kelley Coleman was honored with a 2020 Chancellor's Award of Excellence which recognizes an individual demonstrates commitment to Texas Tech and has significantly increased productivity and efficiency, while using resources wisely and motivates others to serve at the same level of excellence.

Ms. Rachel Jarnagin

Ms. Rachel Jarnagin was selected as a member of the President's Leadership Institute which is a series of educational and interactive educational sessions that promote a culture of high performance leadership.

When asked, the 2020 award recipients chorused how fortunate they are to work in such an exciting and creative environment, saying: “It's easy to lead, to innovate, and to strive for excellence when you're empowered and supported by your colleagues and leadership.”

Dr. Misra summed it up by saying, “I truly appreciate the dedication and enthusiasm of these staff in helping the Office of International Affairs accomplish its goals. I congratulate them on their recognition and wish that they will continue working with the same spirit and attitude to take our institution to greater heights of success.”