Texas Tech University

CoMC Faculty Receive Awards at 2019 Honors Convocation

Contributions from Amanda Castro-Crist and Liz Inskip-Paulk

Four faculty members from the College of Media & Communication were among those recently honored for their achievements and contributions to Texas Tech University at the annual Faculty Honors Convocation held on April 17.

Given by the Office of the President, the awards recognize outstanding faculty and departments for excellence in teaching, research, service and more.

"High-quality faculty are the backbone of great academic institutions," Texas Tech Provost Michael Galyean said. "Our annual Faculty Honors Convocation provides an opportunity to recognize and congratulate Texas Tech faculty members and departments who are true leaders on our campus in helping the university achieve its strategic goals and grow its national and international reputation.

“It is particularly significant that we honor those involved in all aspects of our mission: teaching, research and scholarship, and engaged outreach and service," he added.

The following CoMC faculty received honors for demonstrating excellence in teaching, research and leadership:

  • Glenn Cummins, Ph.D., was awarded a Barnie E. Rushing Jr. Faculty Outstanding Researcher Award.
  • Justin Keene, Ph.D., was recognized with a President's Excellence in Teaching Award.
  • Catherine Langford, Ph.D., recently published a book called "Scalia v. Scalia: Opportunistic Textualism in Constitutional Interpretation" which tied for third for a President's Faculty Book Award.
  • Bolanle Olaniran, Ph.D., was recognized as a 2019 Integrated Scholar.


TTU President Lawrence Schovanec and CoMC Faculty Glenn CumminsTTU President Lawrence Schovanec and CoMC Faculty Justin KeeneTTU President Lawrence Schovanec and CoMC Faculty Catherine Langford

Read more college news.