Texas Tech University

Peter Fischer

Professor of Composition

Email: peter.fischer@ttu.edu

Phone: (806) 834-8245

Office: School of Music, Room 103

Peter Fischer

Peter Fischer is Associate Professor of Music at Texas Tech University where he teaches composition and theory. His works have been performed nationally and internationally. He was named the Grand Prize winner of the 2008 International Society of Bassists, Solo Division, for his Sonata for Contrabass and Piano. Recent works include Primordial (2011), for orchestra, Sonata for Clarinet and Piano (2008), the Ballet of Magical Beings (2006) The Ygdrassil Prelude (2006), and Firedance (2011), all for wind ensemble, and the piano solo works Rings of Crystalline Sky, Notturno I, and Notturno II. New choral works include Twilight, Peace, I Would Live In your Love, and O Magnum Mysterium. He is currently completing work on a Trumpet Concerto (January 2013) with wind ensemble. Works in the coming two years include a Violin Concerto (2013), a Piano Concerto (2014), and a Cello Concerto (2014). Dr. Fischer studied composition with Dinos Constantinides, Peter Hesterman, Mark Lee, Paul Haydn, and Jan Bach. He studied electronic and computer music with Stephen David Beck. He studied piano with Cynthia Geyer, Mark Lee, and George Sanders. He completed a DMA in Music Composition at Louisiana State University and holds degrees in Music and English Literature from Illinois Benedictine College, and a Masters Degree in Music Composition from Eastern Illinois University.