Texas Tech University

 

Big 12 Trombone Conference - logo


The Nineteenth Annual Big 12 Trombone Conference will take place from January 14 - 16, 2022.   The feature guest artist is schedule to be classical trombonist and recording artist

Christopher Bill!

 

Proposals for clinics and performances are now being accepted!

Feel free to review the itinerary from the 2021 conference recently completed.  Our Feature Guest Artist was Jessica Buzbee. 

Please check back for additional updates. 

 
 

Call for Proposals

If you would like to submit a clinic proposal, or if your student or professional ensemble would like to perform at the conference, please email conference coordinator James T. Decker.

2022 Conference Faculty and Guest Artists - updating in progress

 

Conference Host: Professor James T. Decker

Dr. Gilles Bernard

Felipe Brito

Dr.Tyrone Block

Dr. Bruce Faske

Dr. Mike Hall

Richard Harris

Dr. William Haugeberg

Dr. Timothy Howe

David Jackson

Dr. Pedro Martinez

Dr. Deb Scott

Dr. Nathaniel Wickham

 

 

 

Check back for further updates

Competition Information - Update

SOLO COMPETITIONS

 

The Big 12 Solo Competitions repertoire is as follows:

Tenor Trombone

 

Preliminary Round - Concerto -Launy Grondahl – Movement 1 (Edition S)

Final Round - Colors - Bert Appermont  - Movements 1(Yellow) and II (Red) – (Beriato Music)

 

Bass Trombone

 

Preliminary Round - Concert Allegro – Alexei Lebedev – Movement 1 (Hofmeister)    

Final Round - Concerto for Bass Trombone – Robert Spillman - Movement 1 and II (Edition Musicus.).  

 

Maximum age on January 16, 2022 is 26.  Preliminary Round Deadline is Monday, November 8, 2021.

 

More details to be forthcoming!

 

 

 

  

 

 

To pay the solo competition fee online, please use the Pay Now Button Below

 

2021 Schedule

The 2022 Schedule will be posted soon - please check back for updates

 

Friday, January 15

1:00pm EST/12:00pm Central: Recital: Opening Welcome Concert - featuring the Denver University Graduate Trombone Quartet and the Texas Tech University Trombone Choir

3:00pm EST/2:00pm Central: Clinic: Dr. Megan Boutin - "The Works of Michael Haydn featuring the Alto Trombone"

5:00pm EST/4:00pm Central: Clinic: Dr. Lucas Kaspar - "Approaching Tuba Repertoire on the Bass Trombone"

6:30pm EST/5:30pm Central: Participant Zoom Gathering - visit with conference faculty and other attendees in various breakout rooms

8:00pm EST/7:00pm Central: Master Class with Feature Guest Artist Jessica Buzbee

 

Saturday, January 16

 

10:00am EST/9:00am Central:  Warm-up Routine Session: Dr. Lucas Borges

11:00am EST/10:00am Central:  Clinic: Dr. Jemmie Robertson - "The Bill Adam Routine Adapted for Trombone - Interactive, Virtual, Call and Response"

1:00pm EST/12:00pm Central:  Clinic: Curtis Biggs -"The Pedagogy of Norman Bolter as Examined Through the Frequency Bone Summer Music Connection"

3:00pm EST/2:00pm Central:  Panel Discussion: Teaching Strategies and Technologies to Employ During a Pandemic

4:30pm EST/3:30pm Central:  Clinic: Richard Harris - "How and what to Practice - a guide to mastery of the instrument"

6:30pm EST/5:30pm Central:  Participant Zoom Gathering - visit with conference faculty and other attendees in various breakout rooms

8:00pm EST/7:00pm Central:  Recital: Big 12 Faculty Showcase

 

Sunday, January 17

10:00am EST/9:00am Central:  Warm-up Routine Session:  James T. Decker

11:30am EST/10:30am Central:  Clinic: Dr. Zsolt Szabo - "Creating Your Own Chamber Music Experience" 

1:30pm EST/12:30pm Central:  Clinic: Dr. Drew Leslie - "Focusing on the aperture: a 'command center' for your trombone playing"

3:00pm EST/2:00pm Central:  Clinic: Don Lucas - "So much of our playing is directly related to how we began to play"

6:30pm EST/5:30pm Central:  Participant Zoom Gathering - visit with conference faculty and other attendees in various breakout rooms

8:00pm EST/7:00pm Central:  Jessica Buzbee Feature Guest Artist Concert

Lodging and Local Travel Information

CONFERENCE LOCATION

The Texas Tech University School of Music is located at the corner of 18th & Boston Avenue in Lubbock. The parking lot in front of the School of Music is free-to-park on Saturday and Sunday. If you arrive on Friday for Registration, you will need to pay the automatic parking kiosk in order to ensure that you do not receive a ticket. The kiosks do accept debit/credit cards. Friday parking regulations are in effect until 8:00p.m.

For an interactive campus map of Texas Tech University, please click here.

GROUND TRANSPORTATION

If you are flying into Lubbock and are relying on ground transportation, the city features a bus system that has dedicated routes to Texas Tech University. For further information about the "CitiBus" schedules and fares, please visit their web site.

For your return trip, some hotels also offer a complimentary airport shuttle. Please refer to each hotel's web site for further details.

RECOMMENDED LODGING

Woodrow House Bed & Breakfast
2629 19th Street
Lubbock, TX 79410
(806) 793-3330

Staybridge Suites
2515 19th Street
Lubbock, TX 79410
(806) 765-8900

La Quinta Inn & Suites — Lubbock West Medical Center
4115 Marsha Sharp Freeway
Lubbock, TX 79407
(806) 792-0065

Overton Hotel & Conference Center
2322 Mac Davis Lane
Lubbock, TX 79401
(806) 776-7000

MCM Eleganté Hotel & Suites
801 Avenue Q
Lubbock, TX 79401
(806) 763-1200

La Quinta Inn & Suites — Lubbock Downtown Civic Center
601 Avenue Q
Lubbock, TX 79401
(806) 763-9441

Registration and Tickets

You may pay your conference registration fees or purchase tickets for Christopher Bill's feature performance through the registration and order forms below. Credit and debit cards are accepted.

You do not need to purchase tickets for Christopher Bill's feature performance if you have already registered for the entire conference. The General Admission ticket prices apply to all concerts other than the feature concert and to non-registered audience members only.  

Conference Prices

 

FULL CONFERENCE ADMISSION - $40.00

FULL CONFERENCE ADMISSION - FACULTY PRESENTER - $20.00

FULL CONFERENCE ADMISSIION - STUDENT PRESENTER - $15.00

Christopher Bill Feature Performance - $15.00

General Performance Admission - $10.00

Christopher Bill Master Class Admission - $15.00

MIDDLE/HIGH SCHOOL Full Registration - $15.00

 

 To register for the conference,  click here

 

 

Sponsors