Texas Tech University

Giants in the Field

The Energy Law Program at Texas Tech University School of Law is built on a tradition of excellence.

The Program was founded in 1969 by renowned Professor Richard W. Hemingway, author of several seminal texts on oil-and-gas law and a pioneer in teaching energy law. Hemingway served as the Texas editor of The American Oil and Gas Reporter and authored The Law of Oil and Gas.

Following in Professor Hemingway's footsteps was Professor Bruce M. Kramer, co-author of several important books that have become the definitive references for energy lawyers, The Law of Pooling and Unitization, and Williams and Meyers Oil and Gas Law (since 1996). Professor Kramer taught at Texas Tech Law from 1974–2007.

Professor Owen Anderson is a Professor and Distinguished Oil and Gas Scholar for the Kay Bailey Hutchison Center for Energy Law and Business at The University of Texas School of Law. He is also the Eugene Kuntz Chair in Oil, Gas & Natural Resources Emeritus and the George Lynn Cross Research Professor Emeritus at the University of Oklahoma College of Law and was instrumental in shaping our energy-law program as the Jack F. Maddox Professor of Law from 1988–1992.

Professor William Keffer joined the Texas Tech School of Law faculty in 2014, after thirty years of practice in the oil-and-gas business with ARCO, Gardere Wynne Sewell LLP, and his own office in the specialty practice of oilfield-pollution litigation, as well as having served two terms in the Texas legislature. Professor Keffer's emphasis on practice and increasing students' awareness of, and exposure to, the oil-and-gas industry has greatly contributed to the growth and development of the energy-law program at the law school. Our objective is to make Texas Tech a premier law school in this area of practice.

Important Links

For more information, please contact:

William R. Keffer
Associate Professor of Energy Law
Director of Energy Law Programs
(806) 834-3178