Texas Tech University

Giants in the Field

Group Photo

The Energy Law Program at Texas Tech University School of Law is built on a tradition of excellence.

The Energy Law Program was founded in 1969 by renowned Professor Richard W. Hemingway, author of several seminal texts on oil-and-gas law and a pioneer in teaching energy law. Hemingway served as the Texas editor of The American Oil and Gas Reporter and authored The Law of Oil and Gas.

Professor Owen Anderson is now a Professor and Distinguished Oil and Gas Scholar for the Kay Bailey Hutchison Center for Energy Law and Business at the University of Texas School of Law. He is also the Eugene Kuntz Chair Emeritus and the George Lynn Cross Research Professor Emeritus at the University of Oklahoma College of Law, but he was instrumental in shaping our Energy Law Program as the Jack F. Maddox Professor of Law from 1988 to 1992. Professor Anderson is co-author of International Petroleum Transactions, Hemingway Oil and Gas Law and Taxation, and Cases and Materials on Oil & Gas Law.

Following in Professor Hemingway's footsteps and serving with Professor Anderson during his brief tenure was Professor Bruce M. Kramer, co-author of several important books that have become the definitive references for energy lawyers: The Law of Pooling and Unitization, The Law of Oil and Gas: Cases and Materials, and Williams & Meyers, Oil and Gas Law (since 1996). Professor Kramer taught at Texas Tech University School of Law from 1974 to 2007 and continues to hold the title of Maddox Professor of Law Emeritus.

Professor William Keffer joined the Texas Tech University School of Law faculty in 2014, after thirty years of practice in the oil-and-gas business with ARCO, Gardere Wynne Sewell LLP, and his own office in the specialty practice of oilfield-pollution litigation, as well as having served two terms in the Texas legislature. Appointed in 2012, he also serves as a member of the Texas delegation to the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission. Professor Keffer's emphasis on practice and increasing students' awareness of, and exposure to, the oil-and-gas industry has greatly contributed to the growth and development of the Energy Law Program at the law school. Our objective is to make Texas Tech the premier law school in this area of practice.

Important Links

For more information, please contact:

William R. Keffer
Professor of Practice
Janet Scivally and David Copeland Endowed Professor of Energy Law
Director, Energy Law Programs
(806) 834-3178