Texas Tech University

Lecture Series and Workshops

Energy Law Lecture Series

Energy Law Lecture Series

Each year, the Energy Law Lecture Series features six prominent speakers who deliver policy-oriented presentations on topics of current interest. The lectures are approved for one hour of Texas CLE credit and are streamed live through the Texas Tech Law website.

Our fall speaker line-up includes:

  • John Davis and Keith Davis, Conservative Texans for Energy Innovation (Monday, September 20, 2021)
  • Jack and Elizabeth Ames Coleman, Energy North America (Monday, October 11, 2021)
  • Mark Mathis, Clean Energy Alliance (Monday, November 1, 2021)

Previous guest speakers have included:

  • Leslie Beyer, President of PESA - Petroleum Equipment & Services Association
  • Robert Bryce, author/lecturer
  • Cody Campbell, Founder of Double Eagle Permian
  • Wayne Christian, Commissioner of the Railroad Commission of Texas
  • Christi Craddick, Chairman of the Texas Railroad Commission of Texas
  • Drew Darby, State Representative/Chairman of the House Energy Resources Committee
  • Kirk Edwards, President and CEO – Latigo Petroleum
  • Alex Epstein, New York Times Best-Selling Author of The Moral Case for Fossil Fuels and Center for Industrial Progress President and Founder
  • Allen Gilmer, Chairman, Texas Independent Producers and Royalty Owners Association (TIPRO) and President, Drillinginfo
  • Russell Gold, Wall Street Journal senior energy reporter and author of The Boom: How Fracking Ignited the American Energy Revolution and Changed the World
  • Corey Goulet, TransCanada's president of the Keystone XL Pipeline Project
  • Glenn Hegar, State Comptroller
  • Hunter Hunt, CEO of Hunt Consolidated Energy
  • Anne Idsal, Regional Administrator at EPA Region VI
  • Bill Magness, CEO of ERCOT
  • Mark Mathis, filmmaker, speaker, author, consultant, including a screening of spOILed the night before at Alamo Drafthouse
  • Phelim McAleer, Producer/Director, including a screening of FrackNation the night before at Alamo Drafthouse
  • Shelby McCue '78, former land and compensation manager for ExxonMobil affiliate Esso Highlands Ltd.
  • Jason Modglin, President of the Texas Alliance of Energy Producers
  • Donna Nelson '86, Chairman of the Public Utility Commission of Texas
  • Dana Newsome, Chairman, Panhandle Producers and Royalty Owners Association
  • Carlos Ortiz, Mexico's director of information and energy studies at the Ministry of Energy
  • Kathleen Sgamma, President – Western Energy Alliance
  • Ryan Sitton, Commissioner of the Railroad Commission of Texas
  • Mike Smith, Director of the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission
  • Todd Staples, President, Texas Oil & Gas Association (TXOGA)
  • Scott Tinker, Director, Bureau of Economic Geology, University of Texas
  • John Tintera, President of Texas Alliance of Energy Producers
  • John Walker, CEO, EnerVest and Member, Texas Tech University Board of Regents
  • Bernard Weinstein, Associate Director of SMU's Maguire Energy Institute
  • Kathleen Hartnett White, Distinguished Senior Fellow and Director, Armstrong Center for Energy and the Environment and author of Fueling Freedom

Nuts and Bolts Workshops

Nuts-and-Bolts Workshops

“Nuts-and-Bolts” workshops familiarize students with the practical applications of energy law. Six energy practitioners are recruited each year to share valuable tips with the students on topics including title examination, oil-and-gas litigation, acquisitions and divestitures, oil-and-gas lease negotiation, exploration-and-production issues, and surface-owner challenges.

Our fall lecturers include:

  • Jonathan Grammer, Grammer Land & Exploration (Friday, October 1, 2021)
  • Rick Lambert, Powell Law Group (Friday, October 29, 2021)
  • Suzie Boyd, Caballo Loco Midstream (Friday, November 12, 2021)

Previous guests have included:

  • Allyson Bazan, AG's Office, Ecology Division – State of Washington
  • Nick Brock '06, Chevron
  • Richard Brown, Brown & Fortunato
  • Greg Curry '89, Thompson & Knight
  • Bert Ferrara, General Counsel, Legacy Reserves
  • Caleb Fielder, Energy Litigator
  • Celia Flowers, Flowers Davis
  • Stephanie Hall '97, Valero Energy
  • Amanda Hanks, Chevron
  • Dan Hinkle, Energy Lobbyist
  • David Hopson, Partner, PetroCap
  • Scott Kidwell '92, Concho Resources
  • David Lauritzen, Cotton, Bledsoe, Tighe & Dawson
  • Curtis Leonard '79, ICA Energy
  • Wes Lloyd '05, Freeman Mills PC
  • Sam Patranella '07, Luxe Energy
  • Jon Platt '09, Baker Botts
  • Michael Powell, Energy Litigator
  • Stephen Robertson '07, Permian Basin Petroleum Association
  • Christina Sanders '12, NGP Energy Capital Management LLC
  • George Snell, Steptoe & Johnson
  • John Stretcher '12, Legacy Reserves
  • Brian Sullivan, McElroy Sullivan & Miller
  • Barry Thomas '88, Pioneer Natural Resources
  • Lauren Valastro '12, Kelley, Drye
  • Philip Weems '82, King & Spalding – retired
  • Tom Zabel, Zabel Freeman

Important Links

For more information, please contact:

William R. Keffer
Professor of Practice
Janet Scivally and David Copeland Endowed Professor of Energy Law
Director of Energy Law Lecture Series
(806) 834-3178