Texas Tech University


Four Flags

Purpose of the House System



The four houses of the Honors College recognize the support, vision, and persistence of four administrators who helped to found the Honors College on the Texas Tech campus. The Dr. Gary Bell House of Knowledge, the Dr. Robert Lawless House of Integrity, the Dr. Donald Haragan House of Service, and the Dr. Jane Winer House of Courage represent the four pillars of the Honors College by which we educate, learn, live, dream, and innovate together as a community.


The four house system, seeking to welcome first year and inspire community, hearkens back to Dean San Francisco's primary education in India. "When I attended St. Joseph's Boys High School in Bangalore, students were placed into one of four houses. Everything we did from academic performance to the sports field to theater and behavior counted towards the house. This sense of 'belonging' taught me not to work just for myself but also for a 'greater good.'"


Explore the Houses






How are Students Sorted into Houses?



Newly admitted first year students are automatically sorted into a house once they have registered for the First-Year Experience Program. These students will find out which house they belong to at our annual Honors Convocation at the beginning of each fall semester. If a student is unable to attend Honors Convocation, the student will be contacted via email with the results of the sorting.


Students already enrolled in college-level courses entering the Honors College are sorted and notified of their selection via email before the term in which they take their first Honors course.


If you are unsure of which house you belong, email the Honors College at Honors@ttu.edu.




Application for House Points